• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Thank you!

    Join 4 other followers

  • View Count

    • 2,449 hits as of 3/31/10
  • Poll

  • Hit Map

    Map

The sparking of my atheism


This isn’t the reason why I have chosen atheism as my “religion”, but rather some of the events that created a foundation to my future atheist ideas. Yes, this is a personal story, and this isn’t the last.

The first two things that created some of the strongest ideas against me being no longer in favor of religion, was watching zealous and greedy pastors, priests, and preachers. Now, I’ve never really been to church, but the zeal of the dogmatic was definitely stealing any form of trust I could ever have in an organized religion. I remember thinking about how going to church is a lot like trusting the church with your mind. When you go to church, you’re not only entrusting your soul to God and Jesus, but lending your physical mind to the person at the pulpit. When I started watching the greed of these pastors rise, when I started seeing them push to change peoples’ minds, push to tithe, and push to change American law, I found that I could no longer trust those at the pulpit, or even those that went to church. Soon, I was finding myself even looking down on those that did go to church.

The the third event that lead to my pursuit to atheist idea, and one of the most major events, was during my schooling years. While attending school,  I had gained many friends. Many of them were fun loving, amazing people that had a great heart for others but, when I reached high school, much of this had changed. The major church in my town had literally transformed the mind of the youth. The church was greedy through proselytizing, and tricked the minds of the youth, and my friends.  They had taken their fun loving hearts, found their weaknesses, and then exploited those weaknesses to the church’s benefit. I was no longer amongst friends, but rather drones sent from a force under the guise of Jesus. I remember many of those drones trying to get me to hang out with them. I knew it was a trap. I knew that if I were to join them, all they would do is try to get me into that church. I remember them trying to get me to join their youth group, and hearing so many tales from other students that were tricked into going. I think the most horrid thing that I remember the most, is how my old friends physically looked. Many had grown pale, their eyes no longer had a sparkle for life, and the feeling of chills would run up and down my spine as their mindless bodies passed by me; I hated them, I hated them all.

The final thing that lead me to my atheist ideas, was something a little more profound that I dislike and hate. It’s the fact that I can not trust my mind to mankind and popular thought. After a year or so passed after my high school years, I found myself questioning why I’ve looked down upon those that do go to church, and those that do believe in a religion. I soon found that I could not get over the fact that there is too much human influence within religion. The psychology of religion, is quite literally the psychology of all humanity. Each person strives for the community, yet will place themselves well above the community. When I look at the Bible, I see names, I see stories, and each name, and each story is individually told by one person. I soon found myself questioning how people could put so much faith in the individual stories of so many people. They don’t know who those people are, how they were raised, or even what their mind was like, yet everyone chooses to follow their word about a God and His son, and their own prophecies and personal experiences.

Now, none of the above explains why I deny the belief in a God, but rather why I have strayed away from organized religion, and religious belief. So many other things have lead to my preference choice, and I feel that there is so much more to learn and experience. I no longer look down upon those that do go to church, just those that are destructively dogmatic. I no longer hate any of my old friends, many have left that particular church for many different reasons. I have even found myself once again talking, and rekindling our friendships. I also now devout hours each week to learning something new about atheism, Christianity, and many other religions, and even the thought processes behind every religion. I want to learn more, I crave to learn more. The gray areas in life, moral law, and human thought have, and always will, fascinate me.

2 Responses

  1. Hello,

    I have a message for the webmaster/admin here at greateighthsin.wordpress.com.

    May I use part of the information from this post right above if I provide a link back to your site?

    Thanks,
    James

    • Yes, feel free. This is not my best post on this site, but it is substantial to how I got my fuel to fight against religious cultism and control like it.

Leave a Reply

